The College Development Committee (CDC) is the apex body of the institution that plans and executes the developmental activities. The College Development Committee of the institute was set up in 2011. The College Development Committee is a very effective body in Government Medical College, Ongole which serves as link between the colleges, student community and Administration.

With a view to establish an effective interface between various agencies, the University Grants Commission (UGC) introduced the concept of the College Development Committee (CDC). Given the substantial growth of Indian higher education system with fast increasing autonomous colleges, innovative teaching and learning methods, change in pedagogical perspectives as well as the challenges emerged out of sociopolitical and economic policies in relation to education, the CDC’s have emerged as vital forces that frame collegiate education policies aiming at inclusive quality education. Numerous innovative schemes and best practices were introduced at GMC, which were funded by the College Development Committee (CDC).

Role and Responsibility

  • Prepare the overall teaching program or academic calendar of the institute.
  • Recommend to the management regarding new add on modules and additional in concert with HOD of departments.
  • Specific recommended to management regarding research and consultancy activities in college.
  • Recommended and take action to use an effective use of ICT on campus.
  • To promote an FDP for Teaching Improvement of faculty.
  • Prepare financial budget of the college and the same for approval.
  • Prepare students and employee welfare scheme in the institute.
  • Review the reports and monitor the process of all existing committee on a half-yearly basis.
  • Review the report and change suitable action or recommendation.
  • Track all activity of students and staff regarding undisciplined / or other activity which is not beneficial for the institute.

S. No.


Nominated Members


1          Director of Medical Education          Dr. M. Raghavendra Rao          Chairman
2          Principal of Medical Education          Dr. P.V. Sudhakar          Convenor
3          Superintendent of Teaching Hospital          Dr. M. Bhagavan Naik          Member
4          Pre Clinical          Dr. S. Appala Naidu, HOD of Community Medicine          Member
5          Para Clinical          Dr. M. Sandhya Rani, Professor & HOD of OB&G          Member
6          Clinical          Dr. G. Durga Devi, Professor & HOD of Physiology          Member
7          Eecutive Engineer, APMSIDC          Sri. T. Ravi          Member